social media

What is social media?

Social media allows us to communicate and share ideas with our friends for free, as part of a network or community.

There are five main types of social media:


Allows users to send text, picture or video messages, in real time, to other individuals or groups.


Allows users to connect and share with people who have similar interests and backgrounds.


Games which connect to the internet now include a ‘social element’, allowing users to communicate and compete with each other.


Allows users to share the photos and videos that they create. They also offer an interactive feature, so you can create a personal profile and comment on other people’s posts.


Allows users to share their ideas in a variety of formats including text, pictures, sound and video. Users can also include links to other information online. People who use these services are called ‘bloggers’ while those who upload video blogs are called ‘vloggers’. Microblogging platforms like Twitter limit users to short posts.

What are the most popular social media platforms?

Networking: Facebook/ LinkedIn/ Google +

Blogging/ Microblogging: Twitter

Blogging/ Microblogging and Media Sharing: Periscope/ Meerkat/ Youtube/ Tumblr

Media Sharing: Instagram/ Pinterest/ Vine

Messaging: Messenger/ Kick/ Oovoo/ Snapchat/ Whatsapp

Gaming: Minecraft

Time to Talk:

The minimum age for most social media sites is 13. Why do you think this is?

We would love to hear your views on this topic, or outcomes as a result of trying out the suggestion above. Please send them to

Find out more about our #OpenMyEyes Campaign in collaboration with Media Smart UK here.

To access free body image teaching resources, click the button below.

Source: Media Smart Body Image and Advertising: a guide for parents and guardians